Top

Jazz Gallery Center for the Arts:

JazzGallery bcbbwebRiverwest Artist Association NewsSwing Dancing and
RAISE YOUR VOICE

by Bonita Bruch

April will be an exciting month at Riverwest’s Jazz Gallery Center for the Arts!
On Saturday, April 12, the gallery will be jumping and stomping during RAA’s Swingland fundraiser. Swing music will be provided by the Brew City Band, one of the best swing dance bands in Wisconsin. Refreshments will be served. Hours: 7:30-?. $15 per person or $20 per couple.
Tuesday, April 22 will be the opening reception of RAISE YOUR VOICE, a regional exhibition of two-dimensional works of art of social and political significance. The show was inspired by the Wisconsin protests of 2011, and RAA seeks to be a conduit
for the voices of artists who have created work about social justice issues. The opening will recreate the atmosphere in the Madison capitol during the protests. Guests can sing along with Madison’s renowned SOLIDARITY SINGERS. Ian’s Pizza will be served. Opening Reception Hours: 6-9PM. RAISE YOUR VOICE exhibit will run April 22-May 17.

Riverwest’s Jazz Gallery Center for the Arts is located at 926 East Center Street, Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53212

For more info, check us out on the web: www.riverwestart.org
Facebook: Riverwest Artists Association
Facebook: Jazz Gallery of the Arts

Tuesday, April 1
Open Jazz Jam session with Chris Mell & art sketching. 7-9PM
Saturday, April 5
Art Gallery open 12-5PM
Sunday, April 6
Winter Farmers’ Market. 11am-3pm
Tuesday, April 8
Open Mic for singers/songwriters with Julie Brandenburg. 7-9pm
Art sketching encouraged.
Saturday, April 12
Art Gallery open 12-5PM
Swingland 7:30pm – Dance and Concert with Brew City Big Band
6:30PM – Swing Dance lessons. $15 per person or $20 per couple.
Tuesday, April 15
Open Jazz Jam Session with Brandon Miller & art sketching. 7-9PM
Thursday, April 17
Art Gallery open 1-5PM
Friday, April 18
The Steinmann/Clark/Westfahl Trio. 7PM
Saturday, April 19
Art Gallery open 12-5PM
Sunday, April 20 – Easter
NO Winter Farmers’ Market
Tuesday, April 22 – Earth Day
Opening Reception – Raise Your Voice Art Exhibit. 6-9PM
Opening Sing Along with the SOLIDARITY SINGERS
Saturday, April 26
Art Gallery Open 12-5PM
Tuesday, April 29
Open Jazz Jam Session and art sketching with TBA. 7-9PM